About ACCEL

OUR MISSION: 

To serve people who have special needs in Arizona through exceptional programs in education, a wide range of therapy, behavioral development, and vocational training. We turn challenges into possibilities by making the greatest possible impact on the lives of our students, clients and members.

Since 1980, ACCEL has been providing comprehensive instructional programming for children and adults who have special needs. ACCEL is a non-profit organization, and the only private special education school in Arizona nationally accredited by the National Commission for the Accreditation of Special Education Services (NCASES).

In 2019, ACCEL expanded its mission internationally to serve students who have developmental disabilities in Dhahran, Saudi Arabia, where no special educational opportunities had existed for this community.

ACCEL is committed to doing the right thing for students. The ultimate goal is to help individuals who have disabilities achieve a life of dignity and
self-worth—something that all people, regardless of ability level—deserve.

Our core values

We carry out our mission by enacting ACCEL’s core
values of initiative, accountability, dignity, service and excellence.

OUR VISION: a life of dignity and self-worth.

INITIATIVE

We demonstrate leadership and self-direction in accomplishing our goals.

DIGNITY

We respect the dignity and difference of all individuals and treat everyone with respect under all circumstances.

EXCELLENCE

We strive to maintain the highest standards of integrity and performance at all levels within the organization.

ACCOUNTABILITY

We are personally accountable and responsible for our behavior and our results.

SERVICE

We are passionate about meeting the needs of our clients, employees, community and society and are committed to ensuring quality service.

Our people

The ACCEL Leadership team is responsible for developing the organization’s initiatives, directing its education and therapeutic programs, and for providing resources to enrich the lives of children and adults who have special needs.

Raymond Damm, CEO

rdamm@accel.org

Gordon Comfort, COO

gcomfort@accel.org

Mitchell Moore, CFO

mmoore@accel.org

Jessie Bustamante, CAO

jbustamante@accel.org

jonathan

Jonathan Evans,
Metro Principal

jevans@accel.org

Laura Montgomery,
Assistant Principal

lmontgomery@accel.org

Chris Horton,
East Principal

chorton@accel.org

kay-moore

Kay Moore,
Director of Adult Services

kmoore@accel.org

Cailin Ockert,
Clinical Director

cailin@bistacenter.org

Our Board of Directors

Christopher Duncan, Farmer Woods Group
_______________

Scott Taubman, Ameriprise Financial Services
_______________

James Barham, Phoenix IDA
_______________

Julia Kolsrud, Associate, May, Potenza, Baran & Gillespie, P.C
_______________

Brooke Waldron, Cresa
_______________

Keith & Stephanie Farmer, ACCEL Parents
_______________

ACCEL in the news

ACCEL expands campus breaks ground on adult service building

Mingus teacher takes skills to Middle East

ACCEL Receives $100,000 Grant From Virginia G. Piper Charitable Trust